Internet of Things (IoT) Summit at RWW2024
24 January – 2 February 2024 // San Antonio, TX // USA

Organizing Committee


Adam T. Drobot (

J.-C Chiao (

Jasmin Grosinger (

Charlie Jackson (



Adam T. DrobotAdam is the Chairman of the Board of OpenTechWorks, Inc. He serves on the Boards of multiple early-stage companies. His activities are strategic consulting, start-ups, non-profits, and industry associations. In the past he was the President of Applied Research at Telcordia Technologies (Bellcore) and the company’s CTO, and before that the Senior Vice President for Science and Technology at SAIC/LEIDOS.

Adam is a current member of the FCC Technological Advisory Council where he Co-Chairs the Working Group on Artificial Intelligence; the University of Texas Physics Department Advisory Council; and Chairman of FAMES USA a non-profit that organizes programs to attract disadvantaged youths to careers in STEM fields.  In the past, he was on the Boards of the Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA) where he Chaired the Technology Committee;  the Association for Telecommunications Industry Solutions (ATIS); the New Jersey Technology Council; the US DoT ITS Program Advisory Committee, and the University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute External Advisory Board.

Over the years he has been active in IEEE and served as the Chair of, multiple Committees including the IEEE IoT Activities Board, and multiple major conferences such as the IEEE World Forum on IoT. He is currently a member of the IEEE Press Editorial Board.  He has published over 150 journal articles and holds 27 patents. He is a fellow of the American Physical Society. His degrees include a BA in Engineering Physics from Cornell University and a PhD. in Plasma Physics from the University of Texas.


J.-C Chiao

J.-C. Chiao is the Mary and Richard Templeton Centennial Chair professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Lyle School of Engineering at SMU. He was Greene endowed professor and Garrett professor of Electrical Engineering (EE) at UT-Arlington (2002-18); Adjunct Professor of Internal Medicine at UT-Southwestern Medical Center; Product Line Manager and Senior Technology Advisor at Chorum Technologies; Assistant Professor of EE at University of Hawaii- Manoa; and Research Scientist at Bell Communication Research (Bellcore). He received B.S.E.E. at National Taiwan University and M.S./Ph.D. in EE at California Institute of Technology. 

Dr. Chiao is Fellow of IEEE, IET, SPIE and AIMBE. He has authored/edited over 350 publications. He holds 23 awarded and 4 pending US patents. He was the Founding Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Journal of Electromagnetics, RF, and Microwaves in Medicine and Biology; Chair of the 2018 IEEE IMBioC International Microwave Biomedical Conference; Technical Program Chair of the 2019 IEEE International Wireless Symposium (IWS); Technical Program Chair of the 2021 IEEE Wireless Power Transfer Conference; and Chair of the 2022 IEEE Sensors Conference. He is currently with the Editorial Board and a Senior Editor in the IEEE Journal of Selected Areas in Sensors; Editorial Board of the IEEE Access; founding Topic Editor of the IEEE Journal of Microwaves; and co-chair of the IEEE IoT Summit. Dr. Chiao’s works have been extensively covered by global media including National Geographic magazines, National Public Radio (NPR), and CBS Henry Ford Innovation Nation. Dr. Chiao was IEEE MTT-S Distinguished Microwave Lecturer and Sensors Council Distinguished Lecturer. He received the IEEE Region 5 Outstanding Engineering Educator award and Individual Achievement award; Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Excellence in Engineering Teaching Award; Tech Titans Technology Innovator Award; Heroes of Healthcare Research in Medicine award and O'Donnell Award in Engineering by The Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Texas.


Jasmin GrosingerJasmin Grosinger is an Associate Professor at the Graz University of Technology in Austria and a Visiting Associate Professor at the Tohoku University in Sendai, Japan. She earned her MSc from the Vienna University of Technology and worked as a Project Assistant with the Institute of Telecommunications. She later became a Laboratory Associate with Disney Research in Pittsburgh, USA. In 2012, she received her PhD from the Vienna University of Technology. Since 2013, she has researched (ultra-)low-power microwave components and systems at Graz University of Technology’s Institute of Microwave and Photonic Engineering. Jasmin has also been a Guest Professor at Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nuremberg’s Institute of Electronics Engineering. She is an IEEE Senior Member, and her research has resulted in more than 60 peer-reviewed publications and one US patent. Jasmin is actively involved in the Technical Program and Steering Committees of various microwave-related conferences and is an Associate Editor of the IEEE Microwave and Wireless Technology Letters. She is also a member of the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S) and was selected as a Distinguished Microwave Lecturer. In 2022, Jasmin served as the MTT-S S Administrative Committee (AdCom) Secretary. Since 2023, she has served as an Elected Voting Member of the IEEE MTT-S AdCom as a Vice Chair of the Publication and Meetings and Symposia Committees.


Charlie JacksonCharlie Jackson has been active in a broad range of microwave and millimeter-wave technologies.  After receiving his doctorate at UCLA, he worked at Hughes, TRW, Ditrans, Raytheon, and Northrop.  He has recently retired and is serving on the IEEE Conferences Committee.  While recovering from cancer, Charlie pursued a lifelong dream of designing and measuring the acoustical properties of woodwind musical instruments; he now uses 3D printing to make them.  Dr. Jackson has formed 3D Acoustics and Microwaves LLC.  Charlie is a Fellow of the IEEE, has 5 patents and has published more than 30 articles.  He has been active in IEEE chapter, section, conference, and society activities. Charlie is the Vice-Chair of the IEEE Conferences Committee.



Our IEEE Financial Sponsors